An Email I Can’t Send

I’ve been going to these Monday night drop-in support meetings for a couple months now. They are a mandatory thing while I wait for my actual ED program to start. The program starts this coming Monday morning and I am freaking out!

When I had my intake meeting with my case worker she said if I needed anything I could contact her but I never have. I figure it was an empty offer, made to be polite ya know? That and I’ve been on my own with this whole ED thing for a lot of years, why would I need anybody? Except obviously I do or I wouldn’t be in treatment, *rolls eyes*.

Anyways!

I’m not good at asking for help, and I’m slowly (ok, not that slowly) going a little crazy over here so I started writing her an email. I can’t bring myself to send it to her, that is too big a step for me, but I thought I’d post it here since just the writing of it helped me calm down a bit.

 

Hi,

I don’t know if I should be emailing you about this, I’m not really sure I’ll send it…I remember back when we had our face-to-face meeting in your office, before I started coming to the Monday Drop-In meetings, you said if I needed someone to reach out to I could contact you.

I didn’t really think you meant it, I mean, you can’t have people randomly emailing you all day, you’d never get any work done lol I figured you said that the way people say “let’s do coffee!”, one person suggests it, the other agrees, then it never happens. But M (I think his name is M, from Monday night group, I’m super bad at names) mentioned how he reached out to you during the holidays and I thought maybe it wasn’t an empty offer after all? I dunno…

I’m going a little crazy over here and don’t know what to do…For the past couple weeks I’ve had a harder time than normal dealing with food and it is getting to the point where I don’t know how much more of this I can take. I’ve tried adding in extra workouts, not eating, eating, reading, watching tv, cleaning, nothing distracts me and nothing calms me. Well, not completely true, I sorta burned my arm the other day and that helped, but it is a temporary fix, proven by the fact I’m in the same boat tonight as I was before I did that to my arm…It’s not a crazy bad burn or anything, nothing to worry about.

I can’t seem to pinpoint what is freaking me out. Normally when I am like this it is because something is freaking me out…not that knowing what that thing is actually helps the situation.

I’m just so, I don’t know! So mad at myself? Definitely irritated, as I have wanted to punch people for stupid little things for a week or so now. I want to binge. I want to binge so so so much but I know I’ll hate myself for it and I’m trying so hard not to but I don’t know what to do instead to deal with whatever the hell is bugging me subconsciously and not having an action to take to deal with whatever is going on is making everything so much worse. I have no outlet because I’ve taken away mine. Restricting isn’t helping either. I’ve noticed even though I didn’t plan it I’ve cut back on my food intake, not as low as I used to be but lower than what I think I’m probably supposed to be eating…though I tend to think the calorie amounts nutritionists say we should be eating are arbitrarily chosen and something to be altered to fit each individual person, but that’s a whole other thing.

I’m sorry, this is rambling, and ridiculous. I don’t know what I am looking for, help getting me out of my own head? Help calming my brain down? A quick fix to dampen my urge to binge so I don’t cave to the desire? There is nothing to be done, I just have to get through this on my own, I know that. I guess the idea there might be someone I can reach out to and ask for help was too tempting to resist but I can’t even bring myself to send the email because I don’t know how to ask for help. I only know how to be alone and deal with things by myself.

I’ll see you Monday, first day of actual treatment, and knowing me I’ll act normal, as if this little breakdown didn’t happen, and you’ll never know that I desperately needed someone to reach out to and chickened out from emailing you because I don’t feel like I am important enough to ask for or receive your help.

Bye.

full-core-area

 

 

Leave a Reply

