My Appetite Is Gone

I am all for days upon days upon weeks upon months of food restricting. Before binge eating seemed to completely take over my life I was really good at food restricting and frankly, I despaired of ever being able to do it properly again, what with binge eating being some freakish type of demon set loose within me.

But this past week I dunno, something has changed. I’m not sure how it changed, or why, but I like it. I’m confused by it, but I like it all the same lol

I noticed about a week ago that I wasn’t craving the foods I normally binge. I wasn’t hungry. I just didn’t want to eat.

Thing is I had a habit of eating now didn’t I? Why yes, yes I did. So even though I wasn’t hungry I had the habit of eating and found myself reaching for food out of reflex. I would nibble on something and almost immediately feel sick to my stomach, as if I had just binged when in fact I would have eaten something quite small, not even the size of a normal person’s snack.

Soooo, what’s going on?

It’s gotten beyond not feeling hungry to feeling gross in my tummy whenever I think of eating.

Which I gotta say, is great! 😀

I’ve been eating the equivalent of a meal and a bit per day for a week now and feel so much better about myself for having not only not binged but also eating such a small amount daily. I know a meal and a bit sounds like a lot but my meals are way smaller than most peoples so it’s not as gluttonous as you are imagining.

Tomorrow I am going to try only having this protein shake that I make, it has fruit, yogurt, protein powder, green veggies, almond milk and omega 3 oil. I make it thick so it is filling and I can take it to work and sip on it all shift. My plan is to restrict even more than what I am naturally eating right now to help me get back on track more quickly. 🙂

Summer bodies are made in winter, I’ve gotta get cracking!

collage

4 thoughts on “My Appetite Is Gone

  1. beingmeblogxo

    Well done! I wish I had your determination you’re such an inspiration! I’m like this also. It can take me ages to get into the mindset but once I am thats it I hate the thought of food! Hopefully it will come soon for me too! xx

    Reply
  2. proanastyle

    I’m the same way with the small snacks and stuff, but lately I’ve been eating a lot more. You said just eating a little amount makes you sick, I’m the same way. However, for a few months I’ve been eating more, and I really want to get back into the habit of not eating so I can have a great body come summer. Any advice on how to get back to the not eating thing? Any advice would be great!! Thanks!!

    Reply
    1. foodobsessed79 Post author

      When I’m trying to cut down on my calories but struggling I eat things that I know will fill me up quickly. For me, one of those foods is peanut butter. I know it isn’t the healthiest thing out there but I can eat one spoonful and be as full as if I had eaten a meal. Peanut butter may not work for you but if you have a food that you know will fill you up after having only eaten a small amount of it then maybe try eating only that, or mostly that for a couple of days until you get used to the decrease in your calories and you are better able to restrict what you eat.
      Another food is popcorn, unbuttered and unsalted obviously, just buy the kernels, put 1/4C of kernels in a brown paper bag and put it in the microwave for 3 minutes or so (depending on your microwave), it’s low in calories, it fills you up and you don’t have to feel guilty for eating it – as long as you don’t put toppings on it! lol
      Something else I do is make a healthy smoothie, put some greens, some protein powder, omega 3 oil, almond milk, plain greek yogurt, frozen fruit and a banana in a blender, it is thick enough you can slowly drink it over a long amount of time, it fills you up, plus the added bonus that people see you drinking it and don’t offer you food cause they see you are “eating”. It’ll be a bit over 300 calories for the shake which isn’t bad if you use it as your biggest meal or even as two meals.
      Hope some of those ideas help! Thanks so much for the comment and good luck! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

