A Writer?

I am trying to write a book. I know, stupid. I haven’t told anyone because I know they’ll all think I am being an idiot.

I am not a writer.

I don’t even know how people become writers. I just know that I always have stories in my head, to me they are amazing stories, I love them. They are stories that I wish were books so I could read them.

Sometimes I think i’ll write them just so I can read them. They eventually fade from my brain, to be replaced by other stories, and I miss the ones I can no longer remember clearly. If they were written down I wouldn’t have to worry about no longer remembering them.

I started a book years ago, I got to chapter 8 and got stuck. My character, to this day is trapped in a parking lot and I can’t get her out. I feel a little bad for her…

Lately I have had two stories in my head, they won’t go away, I don’t really want them to because I really like both of them, and I keep thinking, if ever I was going to write something why not write one of these two stories. They’d both be perfect!

Not like either story would go anywhere, ever be published, ever turn in to anything good enough for others to see but still, I can’t quite bring myself to really commit to writing either of them down.

I tried. I started story boarding one of them earlier this evening and got completely stuck. That story is already fading a bit and I’m having trouble remembering how I had started it, having trouble getting it typed.

When I tell people the stories, whether in detail or rough ideas they like them, but telling a story outline to someone and writing a book, two completely different things. One is easy. The other requires a talent I do not have.

I don’t know why I am writing about this here, it has nothing to do with my weight loss journey, it is just on my mind and this is the only place I can vent about it…

message

5 thoughts on “A Writer?

  1. munchkinwrites

    Hi! I’m just a random popping in to leave a simple message: you are most definitely a writer. This blog post is writing – it’s you putting your thoughts and feelings into words for others to read and understand. They are honest, heartfelt words. I maintain that anyone can be a writer, because writing isn’t all about writing ‘well’ or getting your stories recognised and published. A child writing about their weekend at the beach is very much a writer to me; after all, children have the biggest creativity of all of us! Being a writer is a choice. Most of the time you won’t remember making this choice, because the stories in your head just won’t leave you alone. If you want to tell these stories, write them out, I say that thought is enough to make you one of ‘us’ πŸ™‚

    You may feel ‘underqualified’ at times. The story is stuck; you get writer’s block and no matter how you try, your character just can’t get out of the car park. That’s not a fun position to be in for sure, but you know what? It’s normal. Thousands of writers around the world are just as stuck as you are. What matters is pushing yourself to break out of it. Writing ‘skills’ can be learnt. There are books you can read, workshops to attend and friends/fellow writers to ask for second opinions. But the best way to improve is through experience. Try it! Every scene you write can teach you something. Just don’t be afraid to try πŸ˜€

    Reply
    1. foodobsessed79 Post author

      Hi, thanks for popping by and commenting. πŸ™‚
      I never really thought about the authors I read getting stuck when writing, I guess I thought writers just had the words easily flow through to their keyboards lol dumb huh?
      I never thought of my blog as counting as writing, it’s just me rambling on about stuff but maybe writing this blog can help me while I try to write the stories in my head? Can’t hurt in any case…
      Thank you for the encouragement! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. saloume

    Hi, i know what you mean about trying to write. Some one gave me an advise once and it was to just keep writing no matter what you think people are going to say. I hope to be an author one day, i have already written a book, I’m having a hard time trying to get it published and finding a literary agent to represent me. Good luck to you!

    Reply
    1. foodobsessed79 Post author

      Hi, thanks for commenting, and reading! I’ll keep trying, who knows, maybe something interesting will emerge on the screen?
      Wow, you’ve written a book!? That’s awesome! If I had any clue as to how you should go about getting an agent I’d share the knowledge but since I don’t I’ll cross my fingers for you and be prepared to say “that famous author commented on my blog one time!” πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

